Enter your keyword

History of UNJ

After the independence of Indonesia, the Indonesian government perceived a lack of education personnel at all types of educational institutions. The government thus decided to establish various courses of education for teachers in order to solve this issue. In 1950s B-I, B-II, and PGSLP were established following high school level of education to prepare teachers for a higher education.

Many attempts have been made to ensure both quality and quantity of teachers by having government establish Teacher Education College (PTPG) as stipulated in the Decree of Minister of Education and Culture No.382/ 1954. There were four PTPGs established in four cities: Batungkasar, Manado, Bandung and Malang. Two institutions were thus responsible for generating the teachers; they were B-I/B-II/PGSLP Courses and PTPG. These two institutions were then integrated into one educational institution having passed a series of various stages. In 1957, PTPG was also integrated into Faculty of Teaching and Educational Science at universities located nearby.

In compliance with Government Regulation No. 51 of 1958, Faculty of Pedagogy was integrated into Faculty of Teacher Training and Education (FKIP). In 1963, Institute of Teacher Education (IPG) was established by the Minister of Primary Education in order to produce high school teachers. Whereas, according to the Decree of Minister of Education and Culture no. 6 and 7 on 8 February 1961, B-1 and B-2 courses were incorporated into Faculty of Teacher Training and Education (FKIP) under the coordination of Ministry of Higher Education which also generates high school teachers. This dualism existed and was considered ineffective and  interfered teacher education management. To overcome this, the B-I and B-II courses were eventually integrated into the Faculty of Teacher Training and Education (FKIP) of University of Indonesia.

By the Presidential Decree No. 1 of 1963 on 3 January was enacted the integration of teacher education institutional system. One of its chapters stipulated that the decree has been effective since 16 May 1964, which was later declared as the anniversary of IKIP Jakarta. FKIP and IPG were afterwards changed into IKIP (Institute of Teacher Training and Education). FKIP of University of Indonesia and IPG Jakarta were then integrated into IKIP Jakarta. Following its development, IKIP has been mandated to hold  Educational and non-Educational sciences under management of a university.  IKIP Jakarta further transformed into Universitas Negeri Jakarta (State University of Jakarta) in compliance with Presidential Decree 093/1999 on 4 August 1999 and was inaugurated by the President on 31 August 1999 at State Palace.

The anniversary of State University of Jakarta has been declared on the same day as the anniversary of IKIP Jakarta, its pioneer, which was 16 May 1964.

Loader Loading...
EAD Logo Taking too long?
Reload Reload document
| Open Open in new tab

Unduh Disini